March 05, 2021
Home  »  Website  »  Sports  »  Vijay Hazare Trophy: Shreyas Gopal Shines As Karnataka Register Comfortable Win Over Andhra Pradesh

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Shreyas Gopal Shines As Karnataka Register Comfortable Win Over Andhra Pradesh

Shreyas Gopal's four-wicket haul guided Karnataka to a 53-run win over Andhra Pradesh in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Google + Linkedin Whatsapp
Follow Outlook India On News
Vijay Hazare Trophy: Shreyas Gopal Shines As Karnataka Register Comfortable Win Over Andhra Pradesh
Shreyas Gopal has taken 11 wickets in five match in the Vijay Hazare Trophy so far.
Vijay Hazare Trophy: Shreyas Gopal Shines As Karnataka Register Comfortable Win Over Andhra Pradesh

Karnataka dished out a clinical show as they beat Andhra Pradesh by 53 runs in their Elite Group A match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy in Bengaluru on Monday (October 7).

Put into bat at the Alur cricket stadium, Karnataka posted a respectable 278/7 on the board, riding on useful contributions from their frontline batsmen. (CRICKET NEWS

Later, their leggie Shreyas Gopal (4-48) spun a web around Andhra batsmen as the visitors folded up at 225, handing the hosts a comfortable victory.

Karnataka openers KL Rahul (33) and Devdutt Padikkal (44) gave their side a brisk start, putting up 68 runs for the opening wicket.

No. 3 Karun Nair (24) could not convert his start, but then it was skipper Manish Pandey, who rallied the innings after both Padikkal and Nair fell in quick succession.

Pandey (50) made a patient half-century in 56 balls, with a lone four and a six to his credit. It was then a quick-fire, unbeaten 45 from 38 balls by their wicket-keeper BR Sharath and a blazing 34 off 16 balls by K Gowtham which ensured that they went past the 275-run mark. The duo put up a crucial 60-run stand for the seventh wicket.

The chase was horrendous for Andhra as opener Ashwin Hebbar was cleaned up by pacer M Prasidh Krishna (3-40) for a duck.

Opener and wicket-keeper K S Bharat (38), who is eyeing a spot in the national team, and one-down DB Prashanth Kumar (78 off 104 balls) added 70 runs for the second wicket.

However, Bharat was trapped in the front by K Gowtham and from there on the Andhra collapse began.

No batsman except Prashant Kumar showed a fight as the others meekly surrendered to spinner Gopal. Eventually, Andhra innings folded up in 46.5 overs at 225.

Karnataka now top the Elite Group A and B with 16 points, while Punjab (from B) stand second in the combined points table. Defending champions Mumbai are at the 12th spot and their chances of making to the play-offs appear bleak.

Meanwhile, Hyderabad defeated Goa by five wickets in another Elite Group A match, while Chhattisgarh, riding on slow left-arm orthodox bowler Sumit Ruikar's five-wicket haul, trounced Saurashtra by 65 runs.

Brief scores (Group A): Karnataka 278/7 (Manish Pandey 50, BR Sharath 45 not out; Ashwin Hebbar 2-27) beat Andhra 225 all out (D B Prashanth Kumar 78, K S Bharat 38; Shreyas Gopal 4-48) by 53 runs. Karnataka 4 points, Andhra 0 points.

Goa 122 all out (Amogh Desai 55, Amit Verma 29; B Sandeep 4- 13, Mohammed Siraj 4-20) lost to Hyderabad 126/5 (Tanmay Agarwal 66 not out, J Mallikarjun 30; Heramb Parab 1-21) by five wickets. Hyderabad 4 points, Goa 0 points.

Chhattisgarh 246/8 (Amandeep Khare 53, Shashank Chandrakar 53; K D Patel 3-47) beat Saurashtra 181 all out (Shedlon Jackson 75, Arpit Vasavada 36; Sumit Ruikar 5-32) by 65 runs. Chhattisgarh 4 points, Saurashtra 0 points.

Group B

Himachal Pradesh: 184/4 in 38.4 overs (Prashant Chopra 82; Yash Thakur 2/21) beat Vidarbha 183 all out (Ganesh Satish 67; Rishi Dhawan 4/35) by six wickets.

Odisha: 260/7 in 49.1 overs (Subhranshu Senapati 119 not out; Azim Kazi 2/45) beat Maharashtra: 259/8 in 50 overs (Rahul Tripathi 69, Kedar Jadhav 62; Suryakant Pradhan 3/50) by 3 wickets.

Group C 

Railways 231 all out in 49.2 overs (Pratham Singh 76, Mrunal Devdhar 50, Vikrant Singh 39 not out, Piyush Chawla 4/46, A Nagwaswalla 3/46) lost to Gujarat 127 for 2 in 25.1 overs (Parthiv Patel 59, Priyank Panchal 51 not out) by 43 runs (VJD method). Gujarat: 4 points, Railways: 0.

Jammu & Kashmir 326 for 6 in 50 overs (Shubham Khajuria 127 (121 balls, 4 fours, 7 sixes), Shubham Singh Pundir 87, Abdul Samad 50) beat Bihar 128 for 4 in 30.2 overs (Babul Kumar 41 not out, Parvez Rasool 3/22) by 65 runs (VJD method). J&K: 4 points, Bihar: 0.


For in-depth, objective and more importantly balanced journalism, Click here to subscribe to Outlook Magazine
Next Story >>
Google + Linkedin Whatsapp

The Latest Issue

Outlook Videos